Reviews

By July 27, 2015 Read More →

Inateck IPX8 Waterproof Case Unboxing

vlcsnap-2015-07-26-19h35m11s087Inateck have sent over a waterproof case to fit most devices. Here we have a look at this no frills approach to device care and a handy accessory if you are heading away to a beach somewhere or just to lounge by the pool. For £10.99 the Inateck Waterproof case does a lot however it won’t increase your chances with the opposite sex.

You can purchase one from Amazon, here.

Perfect Waterproof Companion for Your Phones 
Take your smartphones anywhere you like, go swimming, boating, rafting, diving and snorkeling without worrying about water damage.

Survive Your Devices Underwater
IPX8 waterproof pouch with secure swivel lock allows submerging your devices for at least 30 minutes.

Easy Access to Touch Screen
Designed with crystal clear film on both sides, texting, taking photo and recording videos just work the same as without using the case.

Universal Waterproof Pouch Design
Specifications: 17cm*10cm, fully compatible with devices up to 5.7″ screen displays and provide universal protection for keys, credit cards, ID cards, MP3 players, all iPhone, Samsung and other smartphones.

Compatible Models
Apple iPhone: iPhone 6 Plus/ 6/ 5s/ 5c/ 5/ 4s
Samsung Galaxy: Samsung Galaxy S6/ S6 Edge/ S5/ S4, Note 4/ 3/ 2 
Others: HTC One X, Nexus 4, Nokia Lumia 920/ 820 and so on

Please refer to the dimension of waterproof bag before you purchase it for your large screen smartphone with protective case together

Note: 
Lock the top to make sure the case is fully sealed.
Open the bag upside down in order to avoid water intrusion after using.

By July 24, 2015 Read More →

Polaroid iE826 Unboxing

vlcsnap-2015-07-23-08h18m33s991Picking a compact camera on a budget should be a simple task if there wasn’t such a huge number on the market. No matter your budget there is always a model for you however there is a slightly nicer feature included for a couple of pounds extra on a different model. Limiting yourself to a budget is a difficult thing as one can very easily see the line drawn becoming blurred when you try to get the best value for money.

The Polaroid iE826 has received some negative press of late with a couple on Honeymoon having dropped a whopping £80 on the snapper and expecting the world from the output. The outlet purchased from merely deflected the issue with a “you get what you pay for” excuse.

Oddly, in the case of the Polaroid iE826 we see a camera that obviously suffered from a price conscious feature set yet also a victim of shrewd pricing from some retailers. QVCuk sell the camera of £44.88, the couple claim the the camera was reduced from £80, you have to wonder if they are more annoyed that the camera was available cheaper elsewhere and if they would have kicked up quite a stink if the price had have been as low it is on QVC’s website.

The camera is however not as bad as the couple has made out. Certainly it won’t take home any prizes however if does take some workable images in the right light. Everything is almost good here. Not quite good, but getting there.

The camera looks nice, the colour array available is very attractive and that is the best thing it has going for it right now. The fascia is bright and popping. Aside from the colour scheme the setup is very much standard, the layout of these compact cameras is so tried and tested that it is impossible to get wrong.

The build is quite light and plastic. Whilst solid it would not survive a few night of brutality in a nightclub and a couple of drops would likely have a detrimental effect on something inside. This is a disposable camera, you won’t be dusting this off next summer to capture those treasured moments taking the kids to Disney.

The optics inside are where we are let down, the crucial part of the camera. Whilst serviceable in daylight the camera ISO of 400 really leads to less than acceptable low level light shots, the flash only adding to the disappointment. Just avoid using this indoors and forget about taking it to a nightclub.

Outdoors the images captured are pretty good, nothing pops but at the same time we have seen worse over the years. Setting everything to Auto isn’t the best idea, if you stay on top of the settings you might be able to salvage many of the shots and produce something quite commendable. Fast action also leads to disappointing results, sports days and skiing will become a blurry memory.

There is in built social networking tools allowing the user to share directly to YouTube, Facebook and MySpace. Yes, MySpace.

Perhaps because the battery was new the charge didn’t last too long. Having charged the camera for an hour before use the battery had dropped to three quarters taking the test pictures and video content for the unboxing video before. There is a lot of motor noise coming from the lens as the auto focus attempts to ‘lock on.’ This likely drains the battery quite a bit so ensure you have a spare or a charging solution before you go on a full day excursion.

It is amazing cameras at the bottom end aren’t improving like the modern Smartphone. For the very little extra you might be able to get a better camera built into a smartphone however this bleeds into the budgeting conundrum of not wanting to spend a penny more than £44.88.

I couldn’t recommend the Polaroid iE826 to anyone unless they are back into a corner, the Daily Mail may have covered the camera with a more negative light then the camera is due however that’s the modern media, it is bad but not THAT bad. 

Thanks to QVCuk for the review sample. When purchased from QVC an Essentials Kit is provided, we will be having a look at this tomorrow.

Technical specification: 

  • Camera type: Compact digital camera
  • Screen: 2.4″ LCD
  • Resolution: 18 megapixels
  • Sensor Type: CMOS
  • ISO sensitivity: AUTO, 100 – 400
  • Image stabiliser: Digital
  • Optical zoom: 8x
  • Digital zoom: 4x
  • Self-timer: 2 seconds / 5 seconds /10 seconds
  • Exposure modes: Auto, Landscape, Backlight, Portrait, Sports
  • Effects: Vivid, Sepia, Monochrome, Night Scene
  • White balance: Auto
  • Photo file formats: JPEG
  • Video file formats: AVI
  • Memory card: SDHC
  • Battery: Lithium-ion battery
  • Battery life: approx 90 – 110 shots
  • Camera (l x w x d): 6cm x 9cm x 2.5cm (2.4″ x 3.5″ x 1″)
  • Weight: 140g
By July 23, 2015 Read More →

KitVision Rush Action Camera HD100W Unboxing

youtu.be-HHpUbHTU1Q8A GoPro is a pretty expensive item and whilst they are designed for high octane action there is no getting past the idea that there is always a knock that would kill the camera regardless of the housing, skin or durability of the build. A GoPro is for a serious enthusiast, but what if you are looking to dip your toe in the water of extreme sports and don’t know if you would use a camera very much, or don’t want to risk destroying a £400 GoPro?

The Kitvision Rush feels good right out the box. It’s well weighted, features a brushed steel finish and looks the business when attached to a helmet, handlebar or just in hand. There are a large amount of features that one cannot ignore and the potential for use it immense. I was full of great ideas looking through the different mounts.

From here on everything was going to become a headache. You really appreciate a screen when you don’t have one. All the vibrations and light flashes in the world can happen however that doesn’t necessarily mean things will go the way you want them too. Especially if the bundled software is trash.

As you can see from the unboxing video the Kitvision Rush gives pretty good results when in use. The picture is clear and crisp, the audio, whilst hardly cinema quality, doesn’t offend and the camera itself impresses for the money. When it works.

The footage captures was a third attempt. The first, at the gun range, didn’t work well. Partly my fault, the camera arrived in the morning, I grabbed it on the way out the door on the way to the range after a quick unboxing expecting to be able to shoot right away. Instead I got home to a blank memory card after a confusing collection of buzzes and light flashes.

The manual was required. Not a particularly bad thing however I was a bit annoyed reading the manual to find a how to, instead of looking for extra features. I downloaded the suggested apps and got things working.

A couple of days later I figured I would attached the camera to the car for some exciting close to the road footage from various vantage points. However, this led to 30 mins of getting in and out of the car adjusting, pressing buttons, lost connections and laggy apps. On the odd occasion I managed to view the camera footage however I never managed to capture any footage.

A week later I begrudgingly picked up the camera to attach to the bike, I spent 5 minutes with manual, phone and camera and got it to work sporadically. I put the phone away and relied on what I had learned from the buttons and just recorded a bunch of footage to took a load of photos. No streaming, no clicking around the features, no ad-hoc wifi. A painless as possible left me really happy.

Most of the footage did not make the clip as it is more personal however what is there is great for a £130 camera to throw around. I have only charged it once and haven’t run out of battery yet. Documentation shows 2.5 hours however I must be approaching that soon. However, you have to take another cable with you if you are planning a trip, you cannot share with your micro USB you might have for a phone or tablet.

Specs

  • Micro SD / Micro SDHC up to 32GB (not included)

  • Auto rotation (G-sensor) 

  • Dual file video recording

  • Built-in high quality microphone

  • Rechargeable built-in battery

  • Battery life: up to 2.5 hours

  • Weight: 134.4 g

 

In a nutshell:

Pros

  • Great build quality

  • Great video footage

  • Looks swish

  • Tonnes of flexibility with the adapters

 

Cons

  • Software is pig ugly, slow and frequently doesn’t work

  • Wifi implementation is slow and sometimes non-existent

  • Uses MiniUSB in 2015.

 

Conclusion

Most of the problems with the Kitvision Rush can be fixed fairly easily and I would not dissuade anyone from purchasing one for this. If seeing what you are recording is important you might need to look elsewhere unless you have incredible patience. At £130 I would be pleased with the quality of the camera itself.

By July 20, 2015 Read More →

Inateck 3 Port Aluminium USB 3.0 HUB with Ethernet Unboxing

Inateck 3 Port Aluminum USB 3.0 HUB with Ethernet UnboxingInateck have kindly sent over their latest USB hub, an aluminium variant on something we have seen before and this is a change for the better.

The original USB3.0 Hub with Ethernet was a handy addition to the Road Warrior’s bag and this aluminium version looks to the every bit as good with addition build quality. With only a £2 price difference, this is easily the hub to pick up.

You can grab one from Inateck for £23.99 here.

 

 

By July 15, 2015 Read More →

Unboxing 6 Axis Mini Quadcopter Drone with Camera

vlcsnap-2015-07-14-15h39m13s400Purchasing a drone is an expensive task. You can really lay out a lot of money to get something stable, smooth and will produce good results. It is probably recommended you check out a cheaper Quadcopter first for a couple of reasons.

Your ability. They can be difficult to fly. Up, down, left right and rotating are the main commands however you also have to take into account wind speed and surroundings. The more you pay the easier this becomes and enthusiasts will likely throw money at a manufacturer to have more tech no board to assist with their flight.

Your need. Curiosity is the main reason I asked to review one. On the one hand I wanted to see if I would use it, on the other I wanted to have a look at my roof without having to get out the ladders. Two reasons that hardly need to have big bucks invested in tech.

So when I noticed that Mobilefun had a little drone for £40 with a camera on-board this would cover the need. The only thing was the ability.

Flying a lower end drone is not an easy task. A smaller, no frills drone is easy to lose control of, becomes susceptible to wind and will require extreme patience to find enjoyment in.

First up is the built quality. This is going to take a beating in its first hour off the ground. It will crash into trees, walls, hedges and ultimately, the ground. This little drone will take a licking, not a massive licking but will sustain a bit of rough treatment as it collides with everything around it. It looks good, feels light in hand and will impress anyone passing by. The controller isn’t as sturdy as the drone, built from cheap plastic and the buttons are horribly clicky. The beeps from the controller are shrill, the screen is basic and I am not convinced that all the buttons work.

Secondly is the use. I am of the mindset that a more expensive drone will be easier to control with gyroscopes to assist flight. For this Quadcopter a small gust of wind can upset the flight path and depending on the quality of the pilot may send it tumbling to the dirt. Rotors can bend easily upon impact and thankfully there are a couple of spares in the box. I haven’t had to use any however the casing had needed to be clicked back into place after a meeting with an apple tree. The thumb sticks are not particularly accurate. However this is £40 alternative and the fact that is even flies is enough to impress.

Third, is the battery. Flight time is about 7 minutes. Not a lot, however the size of the battery will directly affect the performance as this needs to be light. I’m happy with the flight time as there is enough time to have some fun and charger takes little over an our. The first few time do become somewhat annoying when the battery dies as it seems to come at a point that you are beginning to understand the method behind keeping it in the air.

The camera isn’t particularly great however it’s a welcome addition. Whilst only a 0.3 megapixel offering the quality isn’t a bad as you might think as you will see from the footage in the unboxing video. Instead it appears quite serviceable, especially for checking out a roof. The drone is quite noisy and as such the microphone is a bit of a waste.

Whilst this will be considered a toy by most it’s a great learning experience. I am even more interested in drones now having played with this and will be looking for a more advanced model in the near future. I do however have a little voice in the back of my mind telling me that these might be made illegal at some point and investing money in a high end drone would be a waste.

 Grab one from Mobilefun.

By June 11, 2015 Read More →

Olixar X2 Pro Bluetooth Headphones review

olixar-x2-pro-bluetooth-stereo-headphones-p47042-aA little money can get you quite a lot in technology now. Years ago the idea of bluetooth headphones left the user unhappy with laggy audio, bulky form factors, short battery lives and high price tags. Now all that seems to be reversed. Bluetooth headphones are cheap as chips and you don’t need to spend a lot of get good value.

Take the Olixar X2 Pro Bluetooth headphones. £25 from Mobilefun. They look good, promise around 10 hours of usage and impressive sound. All completely accurate.

The headphones are made from predominantly from plastic. You can’t really expect a high quality finish at this price however they are sturdy and will withstand any number of light to medium knocks. They certainly are not ugly either. In fact the spongy head band has an ample cushion and looks quite elegant at a glance. A little aluminum around the screws break the blackness quite nicely and give just the tiniest addition of quality.

P1010810

Everything is glossy plastic around the exterior. Some will be a little put off by this as it might have been better suited to have a matte finish. The shiny finish does seem to be used on many cheaper gadgets in an attempt to add a high quality feel.

The fold mechanism is quite strong, you will break it if you are very careless however it will take some heavy use before it fails. The same with the adjustable legs.

P1010808

Playback produced commendable results for the 20mW output. There is more than adequate bass, however this does seem to be of a higher focus than the treble. Whilst the sound produced is quite agreeable there is something missing in the mix and it doesn’t feel as full as you might get on higher end phones. They thump but don’t dazzle.

For calls the microphone and receiver were both adequate. Speaking on 3uk’s HD network, calls were crisp and rich. The person on the other end didn’t notice an particular issues with the call quality at their end.

There is mention of noise cancellation technology and it doesn’t quite cut it. Use on the plane was irritating. The volume limiting on my tablet has always been a problem however in ear noise cancelling headphones have helped boost the experience in a the constant hum of the engines. The olixar X2 don’t have this benefit and there were moments I was having to strain to hear lightly dialogue in a movie. The noise cancellation does not work very well in either direction, letting sound in or keeping it from seeping out.

P1010812

Comfort is one of the most important aspects of headphones, almost on par with sound quality. For short bursts the X2 are perfectly comfortable. Using the headphones on a three hour flight I found my ears were growing weary of the padding and I switched to my in ear headphones for the journey back.

NFC seemed like a really nice inclusion to bypass the anguish of having to open Bluetooth and connect  on the go however I never managed to get it to work. Perhaps it is my phone, I saw an attempt to connect short followed by a failure notification soon after. Hardly  a deal breaker, but enough to annoy.

P1010817

In built controls were a little wonky on my Samsung. A problem I have had with other headphones. Volume Up and Down skipped tracks or exited a movie. Depending on the app in use. There are a great many button combinations to interact with calls, apps and tracks however they will take a while to learn to get the most out of them. I became a little frustrated trying to remember them, I wonder just how many folk out there make the effort.

P1010815

I honestly cannot comment negatively on the battery. I have charged it once and maybe used it for about 10 hours over the course of the week. The are still going and I have the audio cable with me in the event the charge depletes. I would say the estimate from Olixar is accurate and in comparison to other, more expensive, headphones I have used of late, I am very happy.

P1010806

The Olixar X2 are fine headphones. You could do a lot worse for the money. I would have been a little happier paying an extra £5-£10 for better noise cancelling set however these work, and work well. I would imagine they will continue to work for the next while and whilst I will not be using them for travel, I will find a place for them in the house.

Available from Mobilefun for £24.99.

 

Posted in: News, Reviews
Tags:
By May 26, 2015 Read More →

Review Microsoft Lumia 640

640aHave Microsoft created the perfect budget smartphone? With previous releases from Microsoft at the lower end of the budget, the 535 and 435, Microsoft have released a low end smartphone that is making a lot of noise being heavily advertised and pushing big features like Cortana and the Microsoft band.

Out of the box the device is sturdily built and looks like the previous Microsoft releases. The device does have a plastic feel to the back cover however this is detachable. A 5 inch Corning Gorilla Glass, Clearblack IPS LCD display with 294 ppi is a real eye pleaser. Like all phones the screen is a magnet for finger prints however when using the device these are not noticeable.

Powering the 640 you have the Qualcomm Snapdragon 400 1200mhz processor, 8GB memory and 1GB RAM all powered with a 2500mAh battery. The processor is powerful enough to keep your experience of the Lumia flowing. The battery is very impressive and can last a full day of heavy use before a charge is needed. The 8GB on board memory is suffice although this can be extended with the microSD slot.

The windows OS is fun and simple to use. The live tiles on your home screen can be customised to your personal needs. You can pin your favourite apps to your home screen as well as your favourite websites, videos etc. You can choose whether to have your tile small medium or large. There are two tiles which cannot be removed from the home screen, these include shortcuts to your settings and mobile data.

Currently installed on the phone is windows 8.1 denim with the future update of windows 10 guaranteed with this phone.

There are two cameras on the Lumia 640, the front facing camera is a rather disappointing 0.9 megapixel camera. For the selfie lovers you will not be totally disappointed the camera has a wide angle lens which allows adequate selfies. In low lighting the camera is still suffice however there is a lot of noise added to the picture.

 

 

The 535 has a 5 megapixel front facing camera which would have been a nice addition to the 640. The 8 megapixel camera on the rear is fantastic. Shooting full 1080p 30fps videos I was very impressed with the quality and depth of colour.

Although some people are disappointed a carl zeis camera lens is not included on this device I must say the camera does not disappoint. There are two different camera applications on the 640. One can be found preinstalled as Lumia Camera on the main menu, the other can be found on the drop down notification bar at the far left. Both applications let you take pictures however the lumia camera app lets you adjust iso, shutter speed etc.

You can download more lenses from the app store one particular nice feature of the camera is the lumia refocus – Take a snap focus on one element of the picture, want to focus in a different part of the picture you had taken just open the picture and refocus. You can also add in a colour drop for that extra wow factor. The lumia camera also has a feature that can be turned on ‘live pictures’. This records seconds before the picture is taken. A nice feature to have when you see everyone adjust themselves quickly before the final cheese.

640b

The speaker on the 640 is loud. Although this can be muffled when the ‘hole’ at the back of the phone is covered. However, the speaker is impressive.

Cortana, Microsoft’s assistant may be familiar to some Halo fans is a useful addition to the Lumia experience. Ask her to set reminders, send texts and answer your questions. Cortana like google and siri voice activation’s can be funny. Asking her what noises an animal makes or to tell you a joke you will generates funny responses.

The windows app store has increased in apps since the last time i used a windows phone. However there still feels to be a lack of apps available that you would find on android or iOS. Hopefully in the near future Microsoft will expand their app store again and recognise that people may not shift operating systems if they can not find their favourite app! The phone has a number of apps pre- installed – Skype and Mix radio to name but a few. One app that stands out is Fitbit. This app will track your daily statistics from walking distance and diet to help you achieve your fitness goals.

Fitness is perhaps the new fad to enter the mobile arena. As well as being a selfie obsessed nation we are generally wanting to be more active and healthier. ‘Achieve more with Lumia’ is the slogan taken directly from an advert for the 640 and Microsoft band packaged together. Thus leading consumers to believing that wearable technology would only benefit you and help you achieve that healthier lifestyle. I am not a lover of wearing watches however i would like to be a little fitter than i am now, would the Microsoft band help me meet my goals? The band would allow more accurate information for the fitness apps added to this I can check messages and calls.

Can the Microsoft Lumia’s Cortana seduce android and iOS users to try something new? I had a brief affair with a windows phone in 2013 that ended with a cracked screen and my inevitable return to android. I feel that I was not missing anything by going back to android as the windows market was still too new and needed a lot of creases ironed out before I would return. The 640 provides a fantastic deal to anyone wanting to try something different and new. The 5 inch IPS LCD display is fantastic, watching Netflix and YouTube videos are flawless. Cortana is a fantastic personal assistant and the cameras on the phone are satisfactory, the 640 has made me consider returning to the Lumia world.

Prices available from £120 or from £89 as an upgrade this phone does not break the bank and has with the future update of windows 10 guaranteed. Other phones in this range would include the Moto g 2nd generation and the Honor 4x. Both phones run android and have somewhat better processors than the 640. I believe the era of Lumia is upon us and we will only see bigger and better things from Microsoft in the near future…

Posted in: Phones, Reviews
Tags:
By April 22, 2015 Read More →

Unboxing the Inateck Bluetooth 3.0 ultra slim keyboard

vlcsnap-2015-04-20-22h21m31s103Coming in at an exceptionally low price whilst retaining a fine build quality the Inateck Bluetooth keyboard is a low cost solution to increasing comfort when travelling and the need for a more desktop like environment. Also available in black, this revised bluetooth keyboard is much more attractive than the typical affair you would expect at the low price of £23.99. A Curve-shaped and sleek design makes it portable and none bulky. A built-in 200mA lithium battery keep charge  for up to 4 months in standby and 8 hours of continuous use every day. Keyboard sleeps after 10 minutes of inactivity and wakes up when any key is pressed. 

  • Compatible with Android, Windows, Mac OS/ iOS and all Bluetooth-enabled tablets, laptops, and computers, enabling you to mix and match with devices.
  • 0.16inch (4.3mm) thin, easy to transport, work and play anywhere anytime.
  • Built-in 200mA lithium battery, works for up to 4 months in standby without charging with 8 hours of continuous use every day; automatic sleep mode and smart wake up.
  • Using the American broadcom Bluetooth 3.0 chip, transfer up to 24 Mb/s, 8 times more than the Bluetooth 2.0 standard, highspeed connection and signal distance up to 33ft (10m).

 

You can purchase from Amazon here.

Posted in: Reviews, Videos/Unboxings
Tags:
By December 8, 2014 Read More →

iMend smartphone repair review

IMG_1542No matter how careful you are, at some point many of us end up dropping their mobile phone. Sometimes you get lucky and end up with just a little scratch but other times the damage can be a little more catastrophic. Generally your choices are to get a new phone or to get the phone repaired. The former can be rather costly and the repair route typically involves sending the phone away for a week or so. 

If you reply upon a mobile phone for your business then being without it for any amount of time may be less than ideal. That’s where the relatively new service from iMend can come in very handy. 

iMend provides a phone repair call out service. Simply put, they come to you and fix your phone and they can often do that same-day.  iMend can deal with a variety of common phone issues from cracked screens to faulty buttons, water damage, battery replacement and more. Currently they can deal with all iPhone models, iPad’s and Samsung Galaxy phones. They are also adding more devices soon.

My colleague, Simon, was unfortunate enough to break his phone a few weeks ago. Having dropped it climbing out of the car the screen shattered to the point that several bits of the glass fell off! Remarkably the phone and the touchscreen still worked, just, but the phone clearly needed to be sorted out. The issue for Simon was that his mobile phone is critical to his business so the idea of sending it away for repair was unthinkable. He was on the verge of buying a new phone when I told him about iMend.

We called iMend and spoke to them about the problem. They said they could get an engineer out to us the same day but we opted to have the repair carried out the following day. We were given a time window of between 10AM and 11AM and sure enough, at a few minutes past 10 there was a knock at the door.

In walked a very nice young man, Vil, with a couple of briefcases full of tools and parts. We gave him a small work area to carry out the repair and he confidently said that the repair would take less than 30 minutes. Part way through the repair, Vil noticed that the power button wasn’t working properly. A fact that Simon was aware of; the button hadn’t been working for a few months. Vil asked at that point if we would like him to swap the button at the same time. This seemed like a good idea so we agreed. 

After about 45 minutes, it took little longer because of changing the power button, Vil  declared that the phone was fully fixed. Sure enough Simon’s iPhone 5 looked brand new and even had a nice screen protector stuck on too. A nice touch!

All in all, the service from iMend was amazing. Punctual arrival on the date and time promised and at a time and location that suited us. The quality of the work was second to none and even comes with a 12 month warranty. 

The cost to replace the screen on the iPhone 5 was £59 which is comparable to many of the send-away services available but the convenience is invaluable. I would absolutely recommend iMend to anyone in need of a smartphone repair.

Please visit the iMend website for a full list of phones covered and their repair price list.

Posted in: Phones, Reviews
By November 25, 2014 Read More →

ExpressVPN keeping you safe and secret

Screenshot 2014-11-19 at 15.03.24There is no shortage of Virtual Private Network solutions out there, they really seem to be all the rage this side of the NSA reaching into the search engines and online storages to harvest our very personal data and to build a profile on each and every one of us. It seems in the future a Virtual Private Network, or VPN, will be requirement for anyone wanting to “close the curtains” and keep themselves to themselves online. Much like Anti-virus and Malware scanners you can pick up something fit for purpose for not a lot of money. ExpressVPN promises to cover your tracks on your mobile device and provide you peace of mind when browsing on your phone.

Screenshot_2014-11-13-07-21-44

 

Using ExpressVPN couldn’t be simplier. Loading the app takes only a few seconds and you are greeted with a list of networks available to you. This is were you can take advantage of simple services no matter where you are in the world. For example, if you happen to be a UK citizen and wish to access BBC Iplayer whilst on a trip to New York, you can select a Network in London and this will in turn tell BBC Iplayer that you are in fact in the UK and will let you connect.

In the screenshot above I have selected Los Angeles as a recently connected server. This will scramble any trace of where I am for the duation of my connection to the server and make it impossible for a service to track, or spy on your location. 

Screenshot_2014-11-13-07-21-51

 

By comparison to some other VPN’s out there there is a short delay as the app connects to the required server. Other VPN packages can connect automatically to a random server and in the case of F-secure Freedome connect instantly. ExpressVPN is notably cheaper F-Secure’s offering and whilst not as pretty the savings are worthwhile.

Screenshot_2014-11-13-07-22-05

 

Once connected, that’s it. A little key icon will appear in the notification panel to let you know you are safe. You are on-line, in that country and various online services, trackers will believe this. It is important to point out that online stores might present prices in the currencies pertaining to the country network you have connected to and to remedy this you will need to switch the VPN off. However, this can also be handy for price matching and even finding cheaper deals for the international travellers.

Screenshot_2014-11-13-07-22-12

 

A subscription to ExpressVPN is available for $99.95 for a year. This is an incredibly good deal if you take you online privacy seriously. There are a lot of threats out there and alongside the security come some of the bonuses of not having to worry about local internet service providers limiting what you can see and where you can see it. In addition ExpressVPN brags round the clock support and a money back guarantee if not satisfied.

Posted in: Apps & Games, News, Reviews
  • jordan retro 11
  • Jordan Retro 13
  • Jordan Retro 4
  • retro 11 jordans