Reviews

By May 30, 2016 Read More →

EasyAcc 9000mAh Waterproof Power Bank Review

P1030010 When it comes to the Powerbank there is no shortage of options. There are many recognisable brands now and many accessory companies trying to make their mark. One such company is EasyAcc. Having used a number of their power banks in the past it is a brand that I can feel you recommend when it comes to choosing.

Most recently I have been using the EasyAcc Rugged 20000mAh powerbank as my daily backup power source and am pretty pleased with the results, even though it is pretty huge. Admittedly one of the latches that hold the door closed has broken making it a little fiddly to open the door. However, the powerbank lasts a full working week and only needs charged over the weekend.

This brings us to the EasyAcc 9000 mAh power bank. This backup battery is waterproof, dustproof and shockproof. Features a compass, detachable Carabiner, a 2.1 amp output, 2 amp input and is compatible with almost everything has a USB charger. As with most of these power banks of late there is an inbuilt LED flashlight.

The build of the battery is tough and robust, having used it for a couple of weeks I’m glad to say it shows no signs of wear and tear and could totally handle a camping trip to one of the more extreme climates for where it has been designed to perform. The battery itself can handle around three or four good charges of my Nexus 6P.

Size wise for a 9000 mAh battery inside a tough enclosure this unit is perfect. Not too big to avoid being cumbersome and not too small, being easy to grip and easy to find.

P1030011

However, I will say that the compass does feel like an afterthought and doesn’t provide much use however I guess it might be a lifesaver if the situation was to present itself. Also the door on the bottom is quite difficult open which is more reassuring when you think about the waterproof properties. With gloves you will struggle to get it open and it really requires your nails to get in underneath to prize the door open. I guess that is both a pro and con.

One thing that might not actually be a big issue the power bank does suffer from not being able to charge during the rain as the door needs to be open. I’m not sure of this problem would present itself too many users however it is something to keep in mind.

This little battery will continue to be in my travel sack. It’s a great backup and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone on the market looking for something a little more robust.

EasyAcc are always keep their prices low and have even set up a Flash Deal page were you could save a few if you keep an eye on it.

 

Posted in: Accessories, Reviews
Tags:
By May 29, 2016 Read More →

Archos 70 Platinum tablet Review

P1020999Archos have sent us one of their budget tablets, costing a mere £54.99. Have Archos made a premium cheap tablet or is the Archos 70 platinum lack lustre?  Out of the box the casing on the tablet has a brushed metal feel, which is a good start. The tablet weighs 272g which feels nice and light. The tablet has a 7inch screen.

P1020994

On the top of the tablet you have the micro USB charging port, a microphone and a 3.5mm head jack. On the left hand side there is MicroSD card slot.

P1020993

On the right hand side you have the volume rocker, followed by the power on button.

P1020997

At the bottom of the tablet there is another mic.

P1020992

On the front of the screen there is the front facing camera, 0.3 megapixel.

P1020996

On the back of the tablet there is a camera 2 megapixel, 1080p video capture and a speaker grill on the lower right side.

Inside the Archos we have a Mediatek MT8127 quad-core clocked at 1.3 GHz processor and 1 GB of RAM running Android lollipop 5.0.  There is 16gb onboard storage with an expandable microSD slot up to 64gb. There is a 2600 mAh battery offering 6hrs 25mins of battery life, video playback. Before turning the tablet on I was worried that only having 1gb of ram the tablet would not keep up with the latest apps, although this was the least of this budget tablets problems.

When I turned on the tablet it became evident that there was a 3mm gap between the screens. Perhaps this was Archos advanced IPS technology that boasted ‘extra wide viewing angles’ but I was not a fan. I tested the speakers and found their output horrific. The sound was muffled and distorted. A problem that could be forgiven as you still have the 3.5mm jack for headphones but shared viewing or watching a video on the tablet would be an unpleasant ordeal. I also noticed a burn in on the screen, for those who had the first wave of HD plasma screens you will understand the annoyance when you leave one screen to move to the next, the ghost image of the screen before lingers for a few seconds.

This being said the tablet did run games like Minecraft and Roblox well, although my son did complain about them being sluggish at times.

The cameras on tablets frustrate me, why have them there if they are not going to give you a reasonable camera display for video calling. Below are a few images and video taken with the futile cameras.

As with Android lollipop the operating system was fine on the tablet. Clear, clean and simple, Archos did not imprint a heavy overlay on top of the Android platform which makes the tablet easy to use for children or grandparents. The Archos 70 Platinum comes about a stock as you can get however you are reliant on Archos to support it. Lollipop is present as this verison of Android is compatible with their Fusion Storage system to allow users to combine the MicroSD card with the internal ROM and have a larger usable space without having to transfer bits of app to SD, like in days of old.

I tested Antutu on the device and as you can see it scored a very low score.

I had to remember that this was a budget tablet and although it had its screen and sound flaws this tablet did have it’s positives. The USB host cable for connection with a keyboard or mouse was something you did not see on tablets at this price. The storage capacity on the tablet was great, the feel of the tablets metal casing was nice. The Archos 70 Platinum offers a well designed robust tablet with a few flaws but at £54.99 this can be overlooked. Had Archos input an extra 1gb of ram, a better speaker, and a better screen and still kept the price this low this tablet could have been an excellent purchase. Nonetheless still an affordable tablet for kids that’s life expectancy might be short and thanks to the metal casing extended a little longer.

  • Expandable Storage – Micro SD card, up to 64GB (when formatted to fat32 standard)
  • Internal Storage 16gb
  • RAM 1 GB
  • GPU – Mali 450 MP4
  • CPU – Mediatek MT8127/ Quad-Core @1.3 GHz Cortex A7
  • Diagonal Size- 7 inches (17.8 cm)
  • Resolution – 1024 x 600 pixels
  • Technology Type – IPS technology, 5 points Capacitive Multi-touch
  • Back camera – 2 MP 1080p
  • Front Camera – 0.3 MP
  • Battery Size – 2600 mAH
  • Battery Life – Video Playback 6hrs 25min
  • Battery Type – Li-Ion Polymer
  • Battery weight – 40g
  • Charging Adaptor – 5V – 1.5A, Micro-USB IN
  • Bluetooth, Wifi & GPS for better connectivity everywhere

 

 

Posted in: Reviews, Tablets
Tags:
By May 24, 2016 Read More →

Petcube Camera Review

IMG_20160521_152450Let’s face it our cats and dogs are as important to us as any other member of the family. Insuring they looked after and entertained during the day whilst we are at work is one of our higher priorities. Petcube camera promises to do this whilst essentially just being an IP camera whilst also operating as an activity centre and it looks pretty good to boot.

Inside the Petcubes attractive exterior are three things. Firstly an IP camera, This requires minimal setup, works almost first time, seems to be fairly reliable and whilst the quality isn’t superb it is certainly serviceable.
Secondly, a microphone and speaker.  For your animals to be able to hear your voice whilst you are not their offers a lot of reassurance. This can also be useful for directing family members to find something in a room.
Thirdly, a laser beam. The primary focus of the laser beam is a distraction for your animal.  dogs aren’t terribly amused by it however cats and children love it.

P1020988

These three things are housed within the black and silver housing. The silver aluminium around the outside is strong and elegantly designed. The black glass on the front proves fingerprinty, however it looks well and with the three small divisions for the camera laser and Petcube logo/notification light this device wouldn’t be distracting sitting on a shelf.

P1020991

Around the back of the device there is a rubberised exterior that houses the power button the micro USB charger and the speaker. On the bottom is a rubberised surface with the tripod hole added for convenience.

Screenshot_20160521-151821

Using the device is very simple, everything runs through an app that is compatible with both Android and iOS, sadly no reference to Windows just now. Once set-up the application is easy to navigate and proves to be a fun distraction even if not being used for it’s main purpose. Petcube have taken the opportunity to make the app a more Social experience,  allowing the user to view other shared cameras and you can even interact with the animals belonging to the shared profiles if the user has opted to give access.

The image quality can be a little uneven. Whilst you can connect to the device whilst out of the house the stream picture quality can really become degraded depending on the quality of  the network you are connected to. Even inside the house on the 5 Ghz wifi the picture quality  was less than stellar. Camera support is 720p and I rarely saw anything close to that.

Initially I thought the asking price of £170 was quite steep, having spoken to a number of interested parties I realise that people are happy to pay this amount for such a device.  Cheaper options certainly are not as elegant, perhaps omit the laser or the two way audio function, or might be more problematic to setup.

One thing that could be added to the Petcube help function a little better would be a battery inside it. If the power goes down this goes down. Also you are limited to putting this close to a power outlet, even temporarily.

Petcube Camera is a fun and interesting device. Those dedicated to their animals and not wanting to install a lesser, uglier product I can fully recommend the Petcube as a good looking and feature filled device.

 

Posted in: Accessories, Cameras, Reviews
Tags:
By April 16, 2016 Read More →

Homido Virtual Reality Headset review

sdr

Homido Virtual reality headset

Get the virtual reality party started…

You will have heard of the virtual reality wave that is causing quite a stir with high end devices with high prices preparing to launch during 2016; Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, Playstation VR to name but a few, all these devices come at a costly price. Google cardboard is a cheap alternative step into the VR world although it does have its limitations.

With thanks, the people at mobilefun.co.uk have sent us the Homido Virtual reality headset for smartphones. Homido have produced a quite robust well designed headset to let you enter the world of VR with your smartphone. Out of the box you will notice straight away the adjustable strap attached to the headset no more holding your headset to your eyes like you would have done with Google cardboard. Homido recommend downloading their own app ‘Homido Centre’ for you to get the best experience possible.

sdr

The headset is completely adjustable for you needs, the head strap allows you to make sure the headset is comfortably tight. There are a number of lenses included to help the best possible viewing – Short cone – short sighted people, Medium cone – people with normal vision, Long cone – long sighted people. There is a slot to slide your phone into, currently I am using the Honor 7 with 5.2 inch screen which is about the right size of screen to insert, any larger than 5.7 inches may find it difficult for you to get the full benefit of the headset.

Once you have your app ready and the phone inserted all you need to done then is use the adjustable buttons on the side to move the screen closer or further away from your eyes until the screen you are looking at inside the headset is at the right distance, and breathe, be prepared to journey into the world of VR.

dav

The Headset it made of hard plastic and feels solid, however I would be afraid that if dropped or accidentally damaged its lifespan could be short. There is a nice soft sponge cushioning your face from the hard plastic body of the headset which is a bonus. Priced at £47.99 this headset is cheaper than that of the Samsung headset at £89.99 but does cheaper mean better?

I found through usage of the headset that the lenses do get dirty, hence the lens cleaner cloth included in the box. I had also experienced the lenses steaming up a few times although I was getting the cold at that time. There is currently a wide range of virtual reality 360 degree videos available on Youtube accessible through the Google cardboard app, also the Homido app lets you watch 360 videos as well as download some virtual reality games. Unfortunately I did not have a Bluetooth control to connect to my phone I did find the Homido space abduction app really enjoyable. When sitting at my table I was told by the app installed to look at the box of the Homido headset, this enabled Augmented Reality. The app was using my camera enabling me to view the room around me i focused on the Homido box and boom, before me appeared a farm landscape with cows.

Screenshot_2016-04-06-21-12-33

The box turned into a video displaying information about the Homido headset and then the aliens began to invade and started to try and abduct the cows. By looking at the alien spaceships it unleashed a fury of gunshots to bring down the alien crafts. Such a simple game yet really effective.

The Homido virtual reality was my first time using a VR headset. I would definitely recommend purchasing a headset for the novelty and for the kid in me that always dreamed of a time when virtual reality would be a reality. At £47.99 this is significantly more expensive than the cheaper alternatives however you do have a more superior robust headset. Why Buy?

You can purchase the Homido Virtual Reality Headset here for £47.99

● Experience the virtual world through your smartphone

● Universally compatible

● Huge range of VR apps already available

● Lightweight and comfortable

● Adjustable display

● Protective case included

● Compatible with 4 – 5.7″ smartphones with iOS or Android

By April 15, 2016 Read More →

LED Melody speaker and LED light review LK-B044

davAnd the party doesn’t stop until the lights go out….

LED melody speaker and LED light.

Combining your everyday ordinary light bulb with a Bluetooth speaker should be a winning combination. This was sent to us from Digi4u foor £22.99 and boasts wireless connectivity from your phone, tablet or laptop it also boasts an ultra long life on 50000 hours. Eager to see this innovative combination in action I took the LED melody out of the box and screwed it into my light fitting. The device is obviously heavier than your average light bulb and I was worried that the light fitting would not hold it, however this was not a problem.

dav

With the light turned on there was a faint beep to let you know the speaker is ready for Bluetooth connection. Excited to hear the output I didn’t connect the remote control and went straight to my phone to connect the device and start to play some beats. I was impressed at the output of the speaker, even at full volume there was no distortion. My wife who is not technology minded whatsoever thought this was amazing.

The led light itself was quite bright. My kids were impressed at the novelty that there was music playing from the light bulb, however when my son queried did the music play when the light was turned off, I was disappointed that the music does stop when the light switch is turned off. Perhaps the 2nd generation of this Led melody could hold a charge and let the music continue when the light is turned off. 

After thirty minutes of playing music the LED melody blew the trip in my fuse box and became obsolete. Just like all light bulbs they eventually blow, however this was considerably less that the 50,000 hours promised on the box. Perhaps this demo model was on its last legs, however I would be tempted to buy a LED Melody as I think it is a fantastic combination. Maybe next time I will get to check out the remote features where the brightness of the LED can be adjusted perhaps solving my previous problem of keeping the music going with the light turned off. 

  • Support Bluetooth 2.1 +EDR audio sources
  • Bluetooth hands-free
  • With remote controller to adjust the brightness and volume
  • Strong LED light 10~15W, Warm and white light
  • Loud Speaker in 10W
  • Can connect with Wire or adapter

Specifications:

  • Power supply:DC5V
  • Output power:Speaker 10W
  • LED 10W
  • Frequency: 200Hz -18KHz
  • Noise-Signal ratio: ≥60dB
  • Impedance: 4 OHM(Ω)
  • Output: 3.7V~4.2V+0.05V
  • Input: 5V
  • Speaker Unit: 40mm
  • Driver Unit: 52mm, 6ohms
  • Frequency Response: 100-18Khz
  • Case Material: ABS
  • Dimensions: 87*140mm
  • Weight: 600g
  • Color: White
  • Color box: 12*12*17cm

 

By January 22, 2016 Read More →

Panasonic Viera TX 50CX802B review #VieraVIPclub

downloadLast year we saw Panasonic putting out a pretty fantastic Viera television set the really blew  away the competition with a feature set that included some of the nicest looking Smart TV software experiences available at the time. This year Panasonic have changed their focus away from pushing a software feature set in favour of display technology where their heart really lies.

A new super bright LED panel featuring wide colour phosphor technology which combines LED back lighting with a new colour filter system has increased brightness significantly without increasing the power requirements. This keeps the television as a low power option whilst maintaining a fantastic picture quality. This year’s 4K set has proved to be better than we could have imagined featuring crisp Blu-ray images on the panel’s generous 8.3 million pixels.

Some folks may pass this by as it is an LCD screen, nowadays most are all about LED. Panasonic is managed to produce a picture from an LCD screen that truly resembles in many ways the picture they managed to get from the plasma technologies that they so dearly clung onto for the last few years. It is a crazy notion that a company uses older technologies to achieve the best however Panasonic are certainly getting close.

Major work has been done to avoid the glow effect LCD TV’s sometimes suffer from when trying to show black, Panasonic has spent a lot of R&D time eliminating this glow effect and delivered a sense of depth and realism in the brighter content, the likes of which we haven’t seen before. Utilising clever light management Panasonic have been able to deliver deep blacks and can seemingly crush the bleed that can come from the side of the pixel affecting the next pixel. Each individual pixel seems to be able to offer its own degree of colour without affecting those surrounding it. An impressive technological feat that will probably be lost on the average viewer.

P1020600-001

The Tom Cruise movie Oblivion is widely considered to be one of the best test cases for a screen and Panasonic have no qualms about showing off this movie on one of their screens. This is primarily because the television can handle it easily, and if I can handle that movie I can handle any.

P1020598-001

The television itself is gorgeous with a minimal bezel surrounding the 50 inch screen. The stylish stand, admittedly that some may find impractical, possesses 3 HDMI sockets, 3 USB ports and an SD card slot alongside integrated Wi-Fi and wired network options. Changing from their in-house software the television now features Firefox OS as it’s main operating system. This has may concern some as recent news suggests that Firefox OS has become “a genuine open source project” and has been discontinued for smartphones. No word on the future of the television variant, and I hope that there is no plans to stop development as this it really works well. Minimal without being threadbare yet packing a lot of features that most TV manufacturers can’t manage to find a logical way to integrate without clustering of the user interface.

Functionality of this television is deeply impressive. We are given the option to simply be able to add frequently used features of the television to the main screen. I’m not talking about just a channel that is loved but a shortcut to your HDMI 3 instead of having to cycle through the TV/AV option on the remote control several times to get to HDMI 3. The helps greatly when wanting to use a Playstation or something a little more custom.

P1020561

As a cord cutter I was skeptical of the television’s ability as a smart TV to function without an aerial or satellite feed. Firefox OS has an app collection that covers the main basis of television viewing whilst not stretching the boundaries. This was to be expected given the infancy of the operating system. Whilst most people will probably not actually use the TV’s inbuilt  smart technology favouring Amazon’s Fire TV, Roku, Android TV options for their streaming needs there are some who will find the television’s operating system’s life span a concern as apps may not be supported for the long. For now, all is fine and like any emerging platform, only time will tell.

 USB_Pres_FV4_RGB_3197131b

Panasonic are one of the first manufacturers to include a Freeview Play app. This app opens up the ability to view live television from all of the main UK terrestrial broadcasting platforms and integrate with their catch up platforms in a seamless experience to make up to the last month’s programming available at any time.

Adding to the Freeview Play option comes the Market. A diverse collection of content delivering apps that vary in quality however the main contenders are there. Wuaki, Youtube, Amazon, Vimeo and Netflix lead the way with around 100 others to flirt with. Catch up options are all pre-installed  and might only need an update before use. Honestly, Firefox OS is beautifully convenient for a TV operating system, it’s hard to get right, Amazon and Roku’s hardware could learn a lot from this simple setup. In testing the 4K however I found there to be a bit of a scarcity of material. YouTube, Vimeo and Amazon are the only apps that deliver 4K out of the box. Netflix have some however I would have to change my subscription for gain access, as a legacy subscriber I get the HD for £5.99 instead of £6.99, to get 4K this would have to change to £8.99.

However judging a television cannot solely be based on the smart technologies inside. Many users never touch TVs in built operating system outside of setting the TV up. The Panasonic Viera is a display first and foremost and a phenomenal one at that. This is a television that people will stand in awe looking at and when you tell them how much you paid for it they will be considering going to the same retailer as you and picking one up.

Panasonic have lost the IPS technology they used in last year’s model and we’ve actually seen a bit of a u-turn on the viewing angle however this allows for a more impressive contrast performance.This helps Panasonic achieve the 4K Studio Master process they’re very proud of. Panasonic are hoping to deliver a similar experience to that directors see when editing their movies in Hollywood, on the master screens. Whilst most will probably not be able to tell the difference they’re taking it almost as a personal goal for the company to create the best-looking colour representation on screen this year.

If there is anything negative to say about the television is that the 3D included really feels like unnecessary addition that they don’t really expect you to use. Case and point, there are no glasses included in the box. Unfortunately I was unable to test the 3D without glasses and  whilst content providers and exactly pushing 3D as much as they had been it’s likely someone who is actively going to purchase this television will have some 3D movies on amongst  a media collection. Plan ahead, know where to get glasses.

P1020563

Many will complain that they have too many remote controls in their living room, this Panasonic Viera will add two more. Oddly they both do pretty much the same thing. One controller is a standard long candy bar with the typical functions you would expect to find on a TV remote control save for a few shortcut buttons added in for convenience such as Netflix.

P1020564

The second controller is the more interesting of the two. Much like last year Panasonic have be working on touch and voice controls. Lacking backlit buttons and a somewhat slippery exterior this little controller was more difficult to use than it’s bigger brother and be completely honest somewhat unnecessary as the touch controls felt a little unnatural. Certainly it is great to show off and voice control on your television is a wonderful addition especially when done right as with Apple TV, Fire TV and Roku however Panasonic haven’t quite nail this yet.

P1020610-001

On the most cutting-edge television sound really isn’t taken seriously. The speakers here perform quite well however having the screen technology that is on display only makes sense that you plug-in a suitable system rather than relying on the inbuilt rear facing speakers. It seems a little crazy that it’s a given that people will purchase a surround sound system to go along with a television and the Panasonic Viera is no exception to this rule. If you want the most you will have to add something to it. The volume can go reasonably high and it renders voice is quite well. There was no noticeable disruption during noisy sequences however it just lacked that the immersive quality.

This TV is currently priced at £1,300 in Currys. Given that 4K TV’s can cost roughly doubt that this seems like an absolute bargain and if you purchase one you will be deeply pleased with your choice. Panasonic Viera maybe arguably slightly inferior to some of Samsung’s top offerings right now however Panasonic have a loyal customer base and those who are upgrading to this will be deeply impressed and thoroughly satisfied. Those who are not should really consider just why the loyal customers keep coming back to Panasonic.

 For more information and demonstrations please check out:

http://bit.ly/Panasonic_Viera_TVs  

 

 

 

Posted in: Reviews, TV & Home Cinema
Tags:
By January 11, 2016 Read More →

EasyAcc PowerBank PB10000CF Review

easyacc-2nd-gen-brilliant-10000mah-power-bank-“Make it easy to keep running.” We are becoming a more power hungry society, with technology connecting us instantly to friends, family and news there is nothing worse than that dreaded notification on your mobile device that your battery is running low. You hope that the remaining 8% battery life will enable you to make that important phone call, or let you listen to a few tracks on the journey home but there is no need to worry if you have a portable powerbank to charge your device on the go.

The EasyAcc powerbank PB10000CF is a fine example of many of the power banks available by the company. The company describe it as a super battery pack that can give your smart devices enough juice to keep them running.

Specifications:

  • Capacity 10,0000 mAh/37 Wh
  • Battery Type Lithium-polymer rechargeable battery cell
  • Input DC 5V 2A (max)
  • Smart Outputs DC 5V 2.4A (max)
  • Size – 144x75x14.8mm/ 5.7×2.95×0.58 in.

I have previously used powerbanks to give my battery a boost but this power bank can fully charge your phone not once, twice but three times on a single charge. The battery takes about six hours to fully charge and about 90 mins to fully charge my phone from zero battery. The device is quite weighty and is about the size of my palm. EasyAcc describe it as i phone 6 plus size and boast it is capable of charging the new mac book.There are two USB ports on the device and a flashlight in between.  Double tapping the button on the right hand side turns the torch on and off. There is a 4 light indicator of the power banks charge, and it is charged with a micro usb port.  

ik75TPb4

This is the 2nd generation of this battery and the advance on style and shape is a great improvement from the 1st generation.

I have used this power bank extensively over the Christmas period, and to my surprise have used it more than I imagined I could, the 10,000mAh battery just keeps going. Not only did I take it with me as a charging source in the car, on my commute to work I have also found use in charging my gaming consoles’ controllers. I have battery packs on the controller that the charge never lasted for any great length of time. My son used it as an excuse to sit too close to the television as the charging cable was plugged into the console. Now he has to sit at an appropriate distance away from the television as this power bank can keep up with his gaming needs.  No longer do i hear cries of despair as batteries are running low, it is now pass the power bank.

2016-01-11

Currently priced at amazon.co.uk from £10.39 this EasyAcc powerbank is a great purchase for any user of smart technologies. It really does make life easier and help you keep running all day long.  It is also available in a variety of colours. Black and Orange, Black and Green, Black and Gray, Black and Purple, White and Gray…

This is a fantastic product and is now an essential item that i do not think I could do without. Head over to Easyacc’s website to read more about this product.

dav

Other specifications

  • OUTER CASE – premium grinding craftsmanship with better touch
  • BATTERY – High-quality Li-polymer battery cell
  • CENTER FRAME – Uniquely colored and durably constructed
  • Auto On/Off – Auto on/off when devices are connected or unplugged
  • PCB – Highly sophisticated and safe smart ICs;
  • Short circuit protection;
  • Overcharge protection;
  • Overdischarge protection;
  • Overcurrent protection;

 

Posted in: Accessories, Reviews
Tags:
By January 7, 2016 Read More →

Kit: Type C to A Cable review

ctoaMany will grumble however evolution is necessary and Type C USBs are here. A new phone, tablet Chromebook or laptop you purchase has a small chance of having one and its time to let go of those the majority of the MicroUSB cables you have knocking about. If you are rocking a MiniUSB or even ExtUSB then my hat is off to you. 

Kit: Type C to A Cable is a robust option for charging and syncing your Nexus, One+, Nokia, or Pixel devices. The cable acts as as a charger, adapter, and data transfer providing ultra fast data transfer speeds of up to 20x faster than standard USB 2.0. The cable can also to power anything with a Type-C connector this includes even laptops. The Holy Grail for anyone with Type-C is the reversibility, which means that it doesn’t matter which way round you plug it into your device it will be ready for action, something Apple users have been used to for a few years now.

P1020548

However, much like Apple’s Lightening cables it isn’t just a case of picking up any old cable off Ebay, Google have warned that buyers need to identify the best cables for their devices. There is a method to test, using a 2015 Chromebook Pixel. 

Kit: offer a number of different cables and are no strangers to the market. This Type C to A is to hit market shortly and whilst currently a no-frills affair the cable delivers some pretty solid results. Copying the HD video a Nexus 6P took much less time than expected. Copying a 3gb video file was measured by Windows 10 to take 15 minutes, however in reality the transfer was 60 seconds. Charging was no slower than the cable included in the box.

P1020541

Playback of UHD video files located on the phone through Windows Explorer resulted in a buffering icon however I would go as far to say this might be more a problem with Windows 10 than the cable. 

Kit will be releasing a variety of Type C cables, and they are all compatible with the new Macbook and Chromebook, the Nexus 6P/5X, the Nokia N1 tablet, Microsoft Lumia 950 and 950 XL, and the OnePlus 2. It is even being rumoured that the new iPhone will have a Type C connection. 

RRPs start from £9.99

Website: http://yourkit.co.uk/

Twitter: @KitaccessoryUK

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kit-Accessory/

YouTube: YouTube Channel

Posted in: Accessories, Reviews
By January 4, 2016 Read More →

Elite 8 Pin Braided USB Cable from Gadjet Review

P1020514There is an ongoing problem that Apple users are constantly having to deal with, Lightening cable burn out. Living in a household with a number of Apple’s recent portable offerings there seems to be a silent struggle with the lack of charging cables as those that are provided with the device might not last as long as the purchaser will have expected. The first is usually replaced by a second official Apple cable with grumblings about the price, for a cable. Thereafter most folks hit Ebay or Amazon looking for a cheaper alternative. This seems like a great solution until that packs in a few months later, sometimes longer, sometimes a lot shorter.

There are many reasons for a cable to stop working, burn out, something snapped inside, heat problems when using cases, even firmware updates can get the blame. The advice is always back to getting the official cable.

Gadjetsupply however have another solution, their Elite 8 Pin Braided USB Cable. Priced at £7.99 this is sitting right in the mid range of the Apple cable price list however you would be hard pressed to destroy this cable so easily. Compatible with all devices rocking a Lightning port: iPhone 6 plus, iPhone 6, iPhone 5C, iPhone 5s, iPhone 5, iPad Mini, iPad Air, this cable features one of the most solid connectors I have used for a while.

P1020518 

When using an iPad in bed, with the cable providing power, the cable felt somewhat resilient. Previously, having lost one cable to such a challenging task, I have watched a cable tear and fray in slow motion. I have faith that the Elite will withhold a large amount of movement whilst continuing to charge. Oddly enough, using a device in bed does put a lot of strain on the cable as it is usually stretched to the maximum, in this case 1.2 metres, a little longer than Apple’s.  Additionally the cable also transfers file, as the user would expect, between your computer and iPad/iPhone.

Apple’s devices are normally considered fashion accessories, aside from the recently released Smart Battery Case, however you could easily carry the GadJet cable with you instead as there are a variety of colours available. Orange, Green, Blue, Pink, Charcoal make for a pretty if basic look however there is also the Elite Metal 8 Pin USB Cable available with striking looks whilst loosing the unique braided feel.

P1020521

Moving forward I will be using this cable to power and charge my devices on the go, I have no fear throwing it in a bag, oddly the braided texture allows the cable to keeps it shape a little more than Apple’s. I have been rough with this in testing and believe me I will be updating this review in the future if the cable does give in. However, be aware, this has been stretched, coiled, left in a car overnight through freezing conditions, subject to a chair rolling over it on carpet and crucially given to a 17 year old girl, with lots of friends, for a week whilst home, sick in bed. Without resorting to fire, water and methods of actual destruction the cable looks like new. At £7.99 this isn’t breaking the bank to have a little piece of mind that your cable will work when you need it to.

The charge cable shouldn’t be a cause for concern, talk to an Android or Windows Phone user and they will not know the woe. If you need one, I heartily recommend the Elite USB range.

Posted in: Accessories, Reviews
Tags:
By December 22, 2015 Read More →

Syma X5SC explorers 2 Review

syma-x5-sc-1-explorers-2With the mad Christmas rush reaching fever point you may find yourself stuck finding that perfect gift for someone. Look no further than red5.com for some fantastic gift ideas. Whether or not a Quad copter is on your child’s or your own Christmas wish list they are fast becoming the must have fun item for this Christmas and new year.  You can spend hundreds of pounds on a drone however if like me you are a complete novice you can start with a low budget quad copter like the Syma X5sc explorer for £58.95 available in black or white.

This was my first time test driving a quad copter so when I unpacked the Syma X5sc explorers 2 I was surprised at how light it was. My main concern was would this break easily?

IMG_20151205_123948

When my kids saw the drone they were thrilled and could not wait to have a turn, however I had to make sure that I was able to show them how to fly it, so after a few hours they lost interest waiting for their turn as I needed another go, just to be sure.

b_VvHsQKurk6gG6tHP2EgBeJRtLt83rrtgxGX6h-ShU

Out of the box it took 15 minutes to attach the legs, blade safeguards, camera and battery.

With the remote control taking 4 AA batteries I was ready to fly.  I like most men had a quick glance at the instructions and figured i would instantly know how to fly the drone. I was proven wrong. I suggest you have a long read at the instruction booklet as the controls are quite tricky to get use to.

My first test flight was indoors as storm Desmond was still attacking the UK.  The controls were tricky to begin with as i was restricted to the flight paths available. But i must say it was incredibly fun, dodging doors and christmas decorations. The blade safeguards proved to be extremely useful as they prevented any damage that may have been caused on my first few turbulence filled flights. 

On my second attempt i took the drone outside with my son as my navigator we went were no drone had been before.  With a full battery charge we managed six minutes of flying. To recharge the battery it took just over one hour and thirty minutes before the quad copter was ready to fly again.  I have been told by colleagues that this wait time for a battery charge was incredibly fast.

The controls outside were easy to handle as I was not restricted by the inside obstacles. The quad copter took off and I was able to control very carefully around my back garden, however there were a few epic crashes.  The Quadcopters light frame was very durable as there were a number of times the it fell from great heights and seemingly like a cat bounced into an upright position ready to fly again.  On testing my seven year old son and I did not manage to damage the Quadcopter or blades. There are however four extra blades included in the box but I am sure these are only there as after extensive use they will eventually need replaced.

In my videos I have included a couple of the crash landings the copter experienced.

4Z2wEtaXzwZkl8wg7fVztEUD1RhXbJMXniKrBU5uQPM

The quality of the video is fine for a 2 megapixel camera. Understandably if you wanted a better recording device you would have to spend more money on a better on board camera. For there most part there is a small amount of fragmentation in the recorded image and some might be unhappy with it, however for the money it is considerably better than the competition.

df7YK6mfbYSPeCFvT8w-l7mPY_X5hEds5ysbX3xTFTM 

Product features

  • Super Stable quadcopter
  • Built in HD camera
  • 2.4 GHz frequency
  • 6 axis gyroscope
  • 720p video recording
  • Take in flight videos and photos
  • Headless flying fuction – easier in flight control
  • Bigger improved optional blade protectors
  • Raised landing skids optimize camera viewing angle
  • 2 fly modes – beginners and advance
  • 360^ flips and tricks
  • 4GB micro SD card and card reader included
  • Colourful LED lights indicate front of quadcopter
  • USB charging
  • Measures approx. 32cm x 32cm x 11cm

The Syma X5sc explorers 2 has 360 flight which you can do many stunts with as with time I am sure I could master.  For a budget under £60 I feel you cannot go wrong purchasing this Quadcopter. As a learning experience before moving onto a bigger, more expensive device, or perhaps just for curiosity, I have never purchased one before however I will consider purchasing this one for my son’s birthday as he thoroughly enjoyed test flying it.  The camera recording may not be as fantastic as you would want but for a 2 megapixel camera the recordings are adequate.

The best place to get the Syma X5SC quadcopter is from Red5.